Unit 10 Economic Sectors


The Economy


The economy is divided into the primary, secondary and tertiary sectors.



The Primary Sector



The Primary Sector takes raw materials from nature. This includes fishing, agriculture, farming and forestry.


Agriculture is the production of food, animal feed, fibres and animals. The plants are called crops and the animals are called livestock.


There are two types of fishing: coastal fishing and deep-sea fishing. Fishermen catch fish and shellfish, squid and octopuses.


Mining is the extraction of minerals and metals from the Earth. This also includes oil and natural gas.


Forestry is the practice of palnting, take care of and cutting down trees for wood.



The Secondary Sector



The secondary sector uses raw materials to produce finished products. This sector has manufacturing, processing and construction.


Products like cars, clothes, buildings and electricity are made in two different ways: by craft workers or by industrial workers.


Craft workers are skilled workers who work with their hands and tools to make products.


The main activities of the secondary sector are:


The Automobile Sector Cars, lorries, buses, motorbikes
 The Textile Industry  Clothes and fabrics
The Chemical Industry Petrol, tyres, cosmetics, plastic objects
Engineering Tunnels, bridges, roads, buildings



The Tertiary Sector


The tertiary sector is also known as the services sector.


The main activities of the tertiary sector are:



Education which passes culture and information from generation to generation.


Health care which is filled with people who look after our health.


The financial sector which helps the flow of money across the world in the form of banks and insurance.


Transport which provides us with buses, planes ans ships which move people, animals and products.


Retail which is the selling of goods in shops.